Can people with gluten intolerance or celiac disease take Udo’s Oil?

It depends; some individuals who are very sensitive to oat bran/germ cannot use the oil. Others, who are not so sensitive can. The Celiac Association of Canada says there is a problem with oats and its derivatives for celiacs. However there is research stating that oats do not contain the type of gluten which is of concern for celiacs. Oat bran is listed on the label and consumers can make an educated decision about using a product which contains it.

The following statement comes from testing the government of Germany has done on Udo’s Oil: “The oil blend has been assayed for the content of gluten, as it contains unrefined oil pressed from oat bran and germ. The levels of gliadin are very low and in accordance with Codex Alimentarius standards. Udo’s Oil™ is to be considered gluten-free as the miniscule amounts of gluten present are much lower than those found in “gluten-free” grains such as buckwheat.”

Posted in: Health